Albuquerque to Boston

Hello all!
Sorry for the radio silence! After a relaxing Spring Break, I came back for one of the busiest weeks I’ve had so far. For Spring break I went back to Albuquerque and got to spend time playing lots of ukulele, sleeping, seeing my family and friends. Here are a few photos from the break:

The ukulele was a big hit:

IMG_3009 IMG_2983 IMG_3019 IMG_2938 IMG_2930 IMG_2925

….and continues to be a big hit in Boston! My roommates have all started learning chords and we have had many singalongs over the past week.

Over break I also got to see some lovely performances. My mom performed with the Health Science Orchestra and the cello section performed Villa-Lobos!

IMG_2910 IMG_2917IMG_2904

To ensure that everyone didn’t get to stressed in ABQ, we made more stress jars!!

IMG_2931 IMG_2933 IMG_3003

I got to eat my fill of Frontier, homemade pizza and delicious muffins with my favorite people!

IMG_2948 IMG_2886

Esther and I spent an evening as hipsters under the careful tutelage of Averill who gave us clothing, designed our make up and gave us catchphrases to say.

IMG_2952 IMG_3005IMG_2959 IMG_2981

Ella and I also got to go to one of the concerts that Averill helped to put on as a part of Mountain Blood Fest.

IMG_3011 IMG_3014 IMG_3013

I got to see students and spend time with the wonderful Pedagogy folk at UNM:

IMG_3029 IMG_3030IMG_2888

I also enjoyed the sunshine and flowers, since Boston is still cold, wet and occasionally snowy.

IMG_2894 IMG_2898

My last night in Burque was spent with my family, Esther and Ella. We ate, we laughed, we played a lot of music!

IMG_3021  IMG_3022 IMG_3028

Spring break was wonderful. I loved getting to teach a group class on Saturday, visiting UNM professors, seeing Mrs. Rutter, and soak up the sun! Hopefully I’ll be back in May!

Coming back to Boston was a bit of a shock weather wise. I left the 70 degree weather in ABQ and returned to the 27 degree weather in Boston. Since Monday it has warmed up but there have been some brutal days. Most of my week has been monopolized by the All State conference. I got the opportunity to go to dozens of workshops, clinics, lectures, speeches and classes on various topics within Music Education. I also got to solidify my friendships with Alyssa and Talija. After spending 30 hours over the past 2 days with them setting up the table, solving crises, running a reception, breaking down the reception, struggling on the T and going to workshops our friendship was solidified.

IMG_3040 IMG_3037 IMG_3033

I will have more regular updates starting next week! Hope everyone’s Spring is starting well!

Leave a comment